The Money Mentor: IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft in 23 States

31 Jan

By: Lorillia Brown-Phillips, The Money Mentor, Your Black World

Since the IRS open the tax filing season on January 17, 2012, the Justice Department’s Tax Division and local U.S. Attorneys’ Offices targeted 105 people in 23 states on indictments, arrests and the execution of search warrants involving the potential theft of thousands of identities and taxpayer refunds.  Along with 939 criminal charges which included 69 indictments and information related to identity theft.

The identity theft crimes took place in money service businesses also called check cashing stores.  Many check cashing stores are highly trafficked money outlets that service the unbanked and underbanked population.  So far the IRS has made surprise compliance visits to 150 check cashing facilities throughout the US.  According to the IRS.gov website the commissioner Doug Shulman said, “This unprecedented effort against identity theft sends a strong, unmistakable message to anyone considering participating in a refund fraud scheme this tax season.”

Currently, the IRS plans to perform compliance audits to more than 250 check-cashing operations across the country and will be looking for indicators of identity theft as part of the exam effort.  The information from these audits and compliance visits will be used to assist continuing IRS investigations into refund fraud and identity theft.  Some of the US states that are considered high-risk are Atlanta, Birmingham, Ala., Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Phoenix, Tampa and Washington, D.C.

About the Author:

Lorillia Brown-Phillips is a Financial Advisor and Author of “Jump Start Your Credit: How to Negotiate and Settled Your Debts in 10 Steps”, she can be reached at  http://www.brownassocllc.com

34 Responses to “The Money Mentor: IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft in 23 States”

  1. John Stuart February 1, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Great information. Care to make quick cash online? I’m almost up to my first $50 starting today. Check out my link you won’t regret it, you could be making quick cash just as I am.

    http://www.cashcrate.com/3466914

  2. more info May 25, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    “http://www.pekanbaruniaga.com/forumniaga/blogs/viewstory/346 Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

  3. Dewey October 11, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    For newest news you have to pay a visit world-wide-web
    and on the web I found this web site as a best web page for most up-to-date updates.

  4. Robt October 19, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    What’s up Dear, are you truly visiting this web page daily, if so afterward you will without doubt take pleasant knowledge.

  5. Heath November 21, 2012 at 4:03 am #

    There’s definately a great deal to learn about this topic. I like all of the points you have made.

  6. Candra December 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same
    topics? Thanks!

  7. Troy January 3, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  8. Gerard February 22, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    This particular article, “The Money Mentor: IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft
    in 23 States | African American Money” displays that you comprehend exactly what u are communicating about!
    I 100 % approve. Many thanks -Lavon

  9. how to make money from home skills April 10, 2013 at 12:04 am #

    Can I simply say what a relief to find an individual who truly knows what they are discussing on the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light
    and make it important. More and more people should look at this and understand this
    side of the story. I was surprised you are not more popular given that you
    definitely possess the gift.

  10. part time jobs online April 10, 2013 at 4:16 am #

    Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new posts.

  11. Order Nutra Burn April 19, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.

    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  12. list of automobiles of the 1920's April 21, 2013 at 3:16 am #

    Hi there! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for
    the nice info you might have right here on this post.
    I might be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  13. Brigida April 28, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    These are truly fantastic ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some essential things here. Any way keep up writing.

  14. cheapest wigs in uk April 29, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Magnificent items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to
    and you’re just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have received here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which in which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it smart.
    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a great site.

  15. seo bangkok May 3, 2013 at 3:03 am #

    This is wherever you want to be precise and focus on your viewers.
    There are specific required things which the professional search
    engine optimization firms will be the concentrating on and numerous of them
    are remaining detailed in this article.

  16. Silvia May 3, 2013 at 5:46 am #

    Hi, just wanted to say, I liked this blog post. It was inspiring.
    Keep on posting!

  17. Replica Rolex May 6, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!

    ! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Appreciate it!

  18. detroit news tigers news May 8, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Hello! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you
    have here on this post. I can be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  19. deerantlerbenefits.info May 17, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    Wow, this paragraph is nice, my sister is analyzing such things, therefore I
    am going to let know her.

  20. how to get twitter followers quick May 27, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about bidz com. Regards

  21. vintage backgrounds June 5, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    For the reason that the admin of this site is working,
    no uncertainty very quickly it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.

  22. Muscle building June 29, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m
    definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  23. cash advances July 25, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures
    aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

  24. click here August 14, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    Somebody essentially help to make seriously articles I might state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your
    website page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular submit extraordinary.

    Fantastic activity!

  25. cdssal.co.uk May 30, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

    Hі! Do you know if tɦеy make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any гecommendations?

  26. premium wordpress themes October 8, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    Hello this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to
    get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly
    appreciated!

  27. Charlotte-Forklifts July 31, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

    I pay a visit day-to-day some web sites and nformation sites to read content, except this web
    sitye offers feature based posts.

  28. conversion optimization strategy October 14, 2016 at 2:48 am #

    Traffic is coming your method via an effective website positioning, paid search, social or
    content technique.

  29. projecteur led exterieur December 27, 2016 at 9:55 am #

    Projecteur led, projecteur led, projecteur led exterieur, projecteur extra plat, projecteur led puissant,
    projecteur led pas cher, projecteur led rechargeable, projecteur led solaire, projecteur led
    detecteur de mouvement

  30. Excellent blog! Do you have aany helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a freee platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Anyy ideas? Thank you!

  31. dresses May 17, 2017 at 6:16 pm #

    Thanks for one’s marcelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading
    it, you moght be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and may come back very soon. I want
    to encourage you to continue your great work, have
    a nice day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Money Mentor: IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft in 23 States | Your Black World - February 1, 2012

    […] Click to read more on the African American Money Blog […]

  2. IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft – Brown & Associates, LLC - February 1, 2012

    […] IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft Feb012012 Leave a Comment Written by Lorillia Brown-Phillips TweetSince the IRS open the tax filing season on January 17, 2012, the Justice Department’s Tax Division and local U.S. Attorneys’ Offices targeted 105 people in 23 states on indictments, arrests and the execution of search warrants involving the potential theft of thousands of identities and taxpayer refunds.  Along with 939 criminal charges which included 69 indictments and information related to identity theft.  Read more here. […]

  3. IRS Cracksdown on Identity Theft in 23 States | Your Money Mentor - February 3, 2012

    […] with 939 criminal charges which included 69 indictments and information related to identity theft. Read more. This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Lorillia. Bookmark the […]

Leave a Reply

